Board of County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the legislative and policy-making body of county government.  The Board establishes policy and makes all budget decisions with regard to appropriation of funds to county departments and some constitutional officers. 

The chairman presides over all board meetings, signs all legal documents, and appoints commissioners to various committees. The chairman is the official representative of the board and retains a vote on all items and issues. The chairman is selected annually by his/her peers to represent the board

Regular meetings are held two times each month:
First Monday of the month at 9 a.m.
Third Monday of the month at 5 p.m.
These meetings are held in the Board Chambers of the Government Services Building
1769 E. Moody Boulevard, Building 2, Bunnell, FL 32110
• Archived meetings (audio/visual) AFTER 01/01/2017
• Archived meetings (audio/visual) BEFORE 12/31/2016

Andy Dance represents District 1, which is an area within Palm Coast that is roughly located west of Belle Terre Parkway between State Road 100 and Palm Coast Parkway. 

Gregory Hansen represents District 2, which includes the Hammock in northeastern Flagler County. He is a retired U.S. Navy captain of 27 years, who reported directly to the Secretary of the Navy while serving in appropriations. He earned his master's degree from the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School. Commissioner Hansen spent 11 years as a government relations administrator in the Washington D.C. area following his 1996 retirement from the Navy.

David Sullivan represents District 3, which includes the municipalities of both Flagler Beach and Beverly Beach. He was elected to office in November 2016. He is a retired U.S. Navy captain. After his military retirement, he served as director for the Hughes Electronics Corporation, and Boeing Space and Communications. He served as chairman of the Flagler County Republican Executive Committee through 2014. 

Joseph Mullins (Vice Chair) represents District 4, which includes the city of Bunnell and everything west of U.S. 1, and is geographically the largest district in Flagler County. He was elected in 2018, and is serving his first term on the Board of County Commissioners. Commissioner Mullins is a native of Evans, Georgia. He has a Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Georgia. He is president and CEO of The Mullins Companies.

Donald O'Brien Jr. (Chairman) represents District 5, an area that includes the northern area of Palm Coast and mostly to the west of Interstate 95. Elected in November 2016, O'Brien is Chief Financial Officer and Account Executive with Hayward Brown-Flagler, a full-service independent insurance agency. He is currently a board member and past Chairman of the Flagler County Chamber of Commerce, as well as a member of the Florida Hospital Flagler Foundation Board, and board member of the Early Learning Coalition of Volusia and Flagler Counties.