Flagler County is structured to be accessible and responsive to the public. The county is governed by an elected five-member Board of County Commissioners. Each commissioner represents one of the five districts in the county. They are elected at-large, and serve four-year terms. Commissioners’ terms are staggered, with three seats up for election in presidential election years and two seats in mid-term election years.

Flagler County operates as a council-manager form of government – the County Administrator is appointed by the the Board of County Commissioners and manages the day-to-day affairs. The County Administrator’s roles and responsibilities are specified in Florida Statute, §125.70-125.74.

Flagler County’s administrative departments are operated under the purview of the County Administrator and include: Building, Community Services, Economic Development, Emergency Services, Engineering, Financial Services, Fire Rescue, General Services, Growth Management, Land Management, Library, Parks and Recreation, Planning, Public Works, Social Services, Transportation, and Veterans Services.

Residents also elect Flagler County’s five Constitutional officers: Clerk of the Circuit Court, Property Appraiser, Sheriff, Supervisor of Elections and the Tax Collector.